Tags

, ,

I just found this blog post and realized I haven’t written for a long time. I’m hoping to change that. This was written June 2021:

So today I was calling to check on getting an appointment at the dentist. I was put on hold and apparently the person who I was talking to doesn’t know how to work her phone system because I could overhear her talking to her colleague in the office. She told her friend, “She sounds like an older person, so I put her on hold.”

I have a few thoughts about this. Well, firstly, if you don’t know how your phone system works, please don’t say things you shouldn’t. Secondly, why would you put an older person on hold just because you thought they were old? And thirdly, and most importantly, do I sound old?

COVID has seemed to age all of us, I think. But it sure is nice to feel like we are coming out of the fog. At least, that’s how I feel. I work from home and have done so for many years, so the whole remote work thing didn’t really affect me, except that I lost some business, and my best friend was here all the time for a few months (yay!). But I truly enjoy working from home. I mean, to be able to do dishes, get laundry done, eat lunch at my desk in my jammies if I choose, and still work with clients and make a paycheck is truly a blessing!

When the pandemic started, I really and truly wanted to say that when we come out of it, I had accomplished great things. Some people reorganized their kitchens, or remodeled their living rooms, or painted the house, or just plain got their acts together. I can’t really say I did any of those things. I did move my whole household to Michigan, but again that’s not really anything new for me… But you know, it is something big.

Well, those things didn’t happen. I did enjoy some crafting and lots of walks with my love. Oh, and we had a grandbaby added to our family.

But what I did that was very impactful is I focused on God’s love. Specifically, God’s boundless love for me. What a treasure to know how He loves me and always will. On the days I focused on Him, I was continually reminded that He is watching over me. Even through a pandemic.

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent his Son

as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” I John 4:10

So, do I sound old? Well, just like the blessed gray hairs on my head, I am going to own it, stand up and be proud that I am counted among the experienced and chronologically gifted!